Tags

, , , , , ,

Trauma One
Like most cats, I never knew my father.

Having birthed litters close together, my mom and half-sister co-parented me.
Lying down and feeding us on their bitter sweet milk,
they took turns cleaning and chiding us.

My mom never named me. I knew she meant me by her touch.

Trauma Two
One day, someone adopted me and took me away from my real family.
I was alone with her and him, new smells of cat nip and tofu, new open palmed touches.

If you would like to read the rest of this poem, please see https://tupelopress.wordpress.com/3030-project/. I wrote this poem as part of a fundraiser for Tupelo Press and Teen Creative Writing Center, my new work gig. I hope you consider sponsoring the poem and make a donation. As always thank you for your continued support of my writing!

